Final Poster Design

We have been experimenting with Photoshop a lot throughout the semester for our Architectural Communication course. One thing that excited me the most was “Expressive Drawing” on this course but unfortunately, everything was so hectic during that week due to our Basics of Design final jury was just around the corner we couldn’t really focus on the topic as we supposed to. Main reason was we were all occupied with finalizing our cardboard models that most of us couldn’t even start to their axonometric drawings of their models. We supposed to experiment expressive drawing over our axonometric drawings. I’m not really sure how many of us could receive critiques on that but at least few good examples were presented to us which were printed in the Void magazine’s previous issues.  Some of them had very vivid colors with really successful graphical illustrations. Afterwards, some of poster designs with partial expressive illustrations were shown and explained to us from previous semesters. I really wanted to do something creative but again I didn’t have enough time to produce it and disappointing thing for me was to realizing how hard it was to transfer your ideas to the digital platform. I have BA background therefore, I conclude that whatever Excel means to a business and administration student has equally importance on what Photoshop means to an architecture student. It’s a very essential tool to express your work and yourself.

Eventually, our final project on Architectural Communication course was to prepare drawings and designing a digital poster about our final work we produced in Basics of Design course. That ought to have set of orthographic drawings along with axonometric drawing and one section drawing either longitudinal or transversal.

I finished my orthographic drawings but I was not satisfied with them because line weight and hierarchy of them was not really there. Besides, I wasn’t even aware of a concept about different planes should be separated from each other through drawing techniques. Therefore, I considers these things and pay a lot more attention on the principles while I was doing it again.

 

 

Our posters are in portrait layout and my dimensions are 90 x 200cm within the required limit. In addition to my axonometric drawing I also used a partial one to show my design tactics I used on my model. As our instructor suggested not to use baby colors, I did it otherwise but it wasn’t my intention. Still, I could have done something very much different. Needless to say I need to improve my photo shop skills. Hope we all achieve that.

axo büyük

FINAL POSTER

Arch 111_FinalAss_EmrahYaykiran

Leave a comment